Bucky Badger Site banner
Bucky Badger
Faculty and Staff
Prospect Students
Upcoming Events

Homecoming Parade, by Jeff Miller, UW Madison University Communications

Contact Info

1225 W. Dayton Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53706
Phone: (608) 262-2828
Fax: (608) 262-0166
Email: aos@aos.wisc.edu
Chair: Gregory Tripoli

Give to AOS!

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Gift Giving Opportunities


  UW-AOS Alumni Group
  @UW_AOS on Twitter
  UW-AOS on Linkedin


Alumni Directory Online (registration required)

Alumni Newsletters (PDF format)
Fall, 2015
Fall, 2014
Fall, 2012
Fall/Winter, 2011
Fall/Winter, 2010
Fall/Winter, 2009
Fall/Winter, 2008
Fall/Winter, 2007
Fall, 2006
Spring, 2006
Fall, 2005
Spring, 2005

Alumni News From the Department

We are always interested in hearing from our many accomplished alumni. We have made available for you, at this site, our recent Alumni newsletters (Fall 2014 Newsletter now available!) and encourage you to catch up on the exciting developments in our dynamic department.

UW-AOS Alumni Reception at 2016 AMS Annual Meeting

If you are attending the AMS Annual Meeting in Phoenix, please join us for the 8th annual UW-Madison Alumni Reception! It will be on Tuesday night, January 12, 2016 from 6:00 PM to 9:00 in River room-Riverside Building, Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel. Don't forget to pick up your Bucky Badger pinwhen you stop by for food, drinks, and reminiscing with old friends and current colleagues.

Betty Otto-Bliesner named AGU Fellow

AOS alum Betty Otto-Bliesner has been named a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU)for advancing Earth science and related fields. Here is the article announcing her and two other NCAR scientists who were named 2015 AGU Fellows.

Here is the complete list of 2015 class of AGU fellows.

Congratulations, Betty!

TV Academy to Induct Six Honorees intoWisconsin Silver Circle, Sunday, October 4

The Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will induct six veterans from Wisconsin broadcasting into the Academy’s prestigious Silver Circle.
The Television Academy established the Silver Circle to honor outstanding individuals who have devoted 25 years or more to the television industry, and who have made significant contributions to their local television market.

  • Bart Adrian ('81, M.S.), former WITI-TV meteorologist, now with UW-Milwaukee

2015 Robock Lecture now online

If you missed the 6th annual Robock Lecture back in March, featuring MIT Prof. Kerry Emanuel speaking on "The Problem of Hurricanes and Climate", you can now view the talk - online here.

AOS Inaugural Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievement

The AOS department announces a new award to recognize our high-caliber and accomplished alumni. Awarded alumni will be recognized during the University of Wisconsin reception at the American Meteorological Society Annual Meeting. If you know someone deserving of this award, please submit a nomination. For the inaugural award to be presented January 2016, please submit no later than October 1. Nominations can be submitted here. Please include your name, the nominee’s name and contact information, and a one paragraph write-up of their accomplishments.

Video Highlights from the 2014-2015 Antarctic Field Season

UW-AOS Alumni and Students Lee Welhouse, Dave Mikolajczyk, Elin McIlhattan, and Carol Costanza spent part of this past Northern Hemisphere winter in Antarctica, performing installations and various maintenance tasks at serveral AWS sites. Carol Costanza was kind enough to share some video with us of their work.

Here is a summary of several station visits

Other videos include
Traveling to Antarctica
Training and AWS Prep
Antarctic Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
AWS Installation: Ferrell, Laurie II, and Minna Bluff
South Pole: Waiting for a Plane
Nico and Henry AWS Replacements
AWS Visits End of January, 2015

Thanks, Carol for sharing!

U.S. Professors of the Year

John A. Knox, AOS PhD 1996, was a selection and contender for Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching CASE Professor of the year. 2014 State Winners

Congratulations, John!

UW-AOS Alumni Reception at 2015 AMS Annual Meeting

If you are attending the AMS Annual Meeting in Phoenix, please join us for the 7th annual UW-Madison Alumni Reception! It will be on Tuesday night, January 6, 2015 from 6:00 PM to 9:00 in Valley of the Sun A Ballroom, Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Don't forget to pick up your Bucky Badger pin when you stop by for food, drinks, and reminiscing with old friends and current colleagues.

Give to AOS!

The Department has a variety of needs that benefit from the generous financial support of our Alumni. We encourage you to consider whether you think you can assist us by visiting the Gift Giving link below.

(If making on-line donation the fund name and amount needs to be entered in the box provided)

Join the AOS Alumni Facebook group

AOS Alumni, join the AOS Alumni Facebook group. This is a group for current (and future!) alumni of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences at UW-Madison. Use this group to share news from your post-AOS lives; also check here for news from the department and events of likely interest to alumni.

Satellite Renamed to Honor Verner Suomi, UW Satellite Pioneer


(Photo Courtesy of NASA/Ball Aerospace)

NASA has renamed its newest Earth-observing satellite in honor of the late Verner E. Suomi, a professor in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences at the University of Wisconsin who is widely recognized as "the father of satellite meteorology". The announcement was made Jan. 24 at the annual meeting of the American Meteorological Society in New Orleans.

For NASA Press Release: http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2012/jan/HQ_12-026_NPP_Name.html

Professor Martin receives Vilas Distinguished Achievement Award

AOS Department Chair and Professor Jonathan Martin has been awarded the Vilas Distinguished Achievement Award. The award recognizes professors whose distinguished scholarship has advanced the confines of knowledge, and who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and/or service. He will carry the title of Vilas Distinguished Service Professor for the duration of his career at UW-Madison. Congratulations Jon!

UW-AOS alum Louis Uccellini voted the new AMS president-elect

Dr. Louis Uccellini, director of NOAA/NWS/NCEP, and UW-Madison AOS alum (B.S. '71, M.S. '72, and Ph.D. '77), is now president-elect of the American Meteorological Society. He will take over as President of the AMS in January, 2012. Congratulations!

spacer spacer
Copyright 2005 Board of Regents of the UW System

Department | Faculty/Staff | Students | Prospective Students | Research | Seminars | Education |
Weather | Alumni | Upcoming Events | Calendar |
Contact the Webmaster