Bucky Badger Site banner
Bucky Badger
Department
Faculty and Staff
Students
Prospect Students
Research
Seminars
Education
Weather
Alumni
Upcoming Events
Calendar
UW-Madison
spacer

AOS Faculty

AOS Dept Phone number: (608) 262-2828
AOS Dept Fax number: (608) 262-0166

 
Steve Ackerman by Jeff Miller Ackerman, Steven A
Room 251, 1001 AOSS
stevea@ssec.wisc.edu
Professor
608-263-3647
Web page

Associate Dean, Physical Sciences, UW Graduate School
Director of the Cooperative Institute for Meteorological
Satellite Studies
Ph.D. Colorado State University
Photo Credit: Jeff Miller
 
Picture Back, Larissa
Room 1333 AOSS
lback@wisc.edu
Assistant Professor
608-262-0776
Web page
Ph.D. University of Washington
Tropical Rainfall Patterns / Precipitation Extremes and Climate
 
Picture Desai, Ankur
Room 1549 AOSS
desai@aos.wisc.edu
Associate Professor
608-265-9201
Web page
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
Land Biogeochemical Cycles, Land-Atmosphere
Exchange, Boundary Layers, Micrometeorology
 
Picture Hitchman, Matt
Room 1303 AOSS
matt@aos.wisc.edu
Professor
608-262-4653
Web page
Ph.D. University of Washington
 
Picture Holloway, Tracey
201A Enzyme, SAGE
taholloway@wisc.edu
Affiliate Associate Professor
608-262-5356
Web page

Ph.D. Princeton University
Air Quality/Atmospheric Chemistry
 
Picture L'Ecuyer, Tristan
Room 1331 AOSS
tlecuyer@wisc.edu
Assistant Professor
608-890-2107
Web page
Ph.D. Colorado State University
 
Picture Liu, Zhengyu
Room 1155 AOSS
zliu3@wisc.edu
Professor
608-262-0777
Web page
CCR web page
Ph.D. MIT
Modeling global climate system; Ocean-atmosphere-land interaction; Climate change and climate variability in the past, present, and future; Modeling and dynamics of general oceanic circulation; Dynamics of geophysical fluid.
 
Picture Martin, Jonathan
On Sabbatical
Room 1425A AO&SS
jemarti1@wisc.edu
Professor
608-262-9845
Web page
Ph.D. University of Washington
Synoptic/Dynamic Meteorology
 
Picture McKinley, Galen
Room 1511 AOSS
gamckinley@wisc.edu
Associate Professor
Web page
Ph.D. MIT
Oceanography/Marine Biogeochemical Cycles
 
Picture Morgan, Michael
Room 1401 AOSS
mcmorgan@wisc.edu
Professor
Web page
Ph.D. MIT
Analysis, diagnosis, & prediction of weather systems
 
Picture Petty, Grant
Room 1329 AOSS
gpetty@aos.wisc.edu
Chair and Professor
608-263-3265
Web page
Ph.D. University of Washington
Satellite Remote Sensing & Atmospheric Radiation
 
Picture Tripoli, Greg
Room 1431 AOSS
tripoli@aos.wisc.edu
Professor
608-262-3700
Web page
Ph. D. Colorado State University
 
Picture Vimont, Dan
Room 1123 AOSS
dvimont@wisc.edu
Associate Professor
608-263-3420
Web page
Ph.D. University of Washington
Climate Dynamics & Impacts, Coupled Ocean-Atmosphere
Interactions
 
Picture Wang, Pao
Room 1525A AOSS
pao@windy.aos.wisc.edu
Professor
608-263-6479
Web page
Ph.D. University of California-Los Angles
Cloud Physics, Cloud Dynamics, Atmospheric
Physics/Chemistry
 

AOS Emeritus Faculty

 
Picture Bretherton, Francis
Room 903 AOSS
fbretherton@charter.net
Emeritus Professor
Web page
Ph.D. University of Cambridge
 
Picture Hastenrath, Stefan
Room 927 AOSS
slhasten@wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor, Senior Scientist
608-262-3659
Ph.D. University of Bonn
 
Picture Houghton, David
ddhought@wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D.University of Washington
 
Picture Johnson, Donald
Room 1539 AOSS
donj@ssec.wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor
608-262-2538
Web page
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
 
Picture Kutzbach, John
Room 1125 AOSS
jek@wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor
608-262-0392
Web page
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
Climate Dynamics; Past, Present, and Future Climates
 
Picture Norman, John
71A Soils Sciences
jmnormal@wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor
608-262-4576
Web page
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
Environmental Biophysics
 
Picture Ragotzkie, Robert

ragotzkie@wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
 
Picture Smith, William
Room 1005 AOSS
bill.smith@hamptonnu.edu
Emeritus Professor
608-262-4363
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
 
Picture Young, John
Room 1503 AOSS
jayoung@wisc.edu
Emeritus Professor
Phone
Ph.D. MIT
State Climatologist
Dynamics, Climate, & Boundary Layer
 

AOS Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty

 
Picture Berg, Larry
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
larry.berg@pnl.gov
Adjunct
Web page
Ph.D. University of British Columbia
 
Picture Heidinger, Andy
Room 405 AOSS
andrew.heidinger@ssec.wisc.edu
Adjunct Assistant Professor
608-263-6757
Web page
Ph.D. Colorado State University
 
Picture Key, Jeff
Room 403 AOSS
jkey@ssec.wisc.edu
Adjunct Associate Professor
608-263-2605
Web page
Ph.D. University of Colorado- Boulder
Satellite Meterology, Polar Climate
 
Picture Kossin, James
Room 205 AOSS
kossin@ssec.wisc.edu
Adjunct
608-265-5356
Web page
Ph.D. Colorado State University
 
Picture Kucharik, Chris
457 Moore Hall (Agronomy)
202 Enzyme (SAGE)
kucharik@wisc.edu
Affiliate Associate Professor
608-890-3021 (Agronomy)
608-263-1859 (SAGE)
Web page
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
 
Picture Platnick, Steven
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
steven.e.platnick@nasa.gov
Adjunct
Web page
Ph.D. University of Arizona
 
Picture Stechmann, Sam
815 Van Vleck
stechmann@math.wisc.edu
Affiliate Assistant Professor
263-4351
Web page
Ph.D. Courant Institute, New York University
 
Picture Williams, Jack
421 Science Hall
jww@geography.wisc.edu
Affliliate Professor
608-625-5537
Web page
Ph.D. Brown University
Director of the Center for Climatic Research
 

 

spacer spacer
Copyright 2005 Board of Regents of the UW System

Department | Faculty/Staff | Students | Prospective Students | Research | Seminars | Education |
Weather | Alumni | Upcoming Events | Calendar |
Contact the Webmaster