Bucky Badger Site banner
Bucky Badger
Faculty and Staff
Prospect Students
Upcoming Events

AOS building photo

Contact Info

1225 W. Dayton Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53706
Phone: (608) 262-2828
Fax: (608) 262-0166
Email: aos@aos.wisc.edu
Chair: Grant Petty


  UW-AOS Alumni Group
  @UW_AOS on Twitter
  UW-AOS on Linkedin


Do you have an event or story that you'd like to see highlighted on the UW-AOS web site? Please contact
web at aos.wisc.edu


Thank you very much for visiting our site, and a warm welcome from our department! Over the last 60 years, we have grown into one of the leading departments in our field of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences. We have strong graduate and undergraduate programs which are nationally recognized. We pursue research with a combination of theory, modeling, and diagnostic studies. We support this work with a foundation of first-year graduate core courses, and an appealing range of electives for both graduate and undergraduate students. (more...)

Congratulations Jacola Roman and Jessica Gartzke. Both recieved awards at the 20th International TOVS Study Conferences (ITSC).

Jacola won gold in oral presentations for "Measurement Requirements and Current Capabilities for Satellite Remote Sensing of Precipitable Water Vapor." and Jessica won silver in poster presentations for "Ten Years of CAPE Observations in the U. S. SGP from the AIRS Hyperspectral IR Sounder: Climatology, Validation, and Near-real Time Applications."

Prof. Michael Morgan elected to the UCAR Board of Trustees, Congratulations Michael!


Library Workshops for AOS Graduate Students

The workshops will be held on Monday, October 19th and Monday, October 26th from 1:30-2:30 in room 823 of the Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences Building. Students can attend either workshop.

Prof. Jon Martin featured in Marshall Shepherd's segment "Wx Geeks" on the Weather Channel

Prof. Martin talks about the shrinking arctic cold pool and other topics. The Weather Channel's hurricance and storm specialist, Greg Postel, who also appears with Jon in the segment, is an alum of our PhD program.

UW-Madison is now StormReady!

UW-Madison was officially recognized as StormReady by NWS Director and UW-AOS Alum Dr. Louis Uccelini at a ceremony on September 10. Here is the NWS article. Thanks to all involved in making this happen!

image courtesy of UW-CIMSS

Tracey Holloway named inaugural fellow of AAAS Leshner Leadership Institute


Prof. Dan Vimont interviewed by WPT regarding the ongoing El Niño event

The interview is scheduled to air tonight (9/4/2015) at 7:30 on "Here and Now" on Wisconsin Public Television.


TV Academy to Induct Six Honorees intoWisconsin Silver Circle, Sunday, October 4

The Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will induct six veterans from Wisconsin broadcasting into the Academy’s prestigious Silver Circle. 
The Television Academy established the Silver Circle to honor outstanding individuals who have devoted 25 years or more to the television industry, and who have made significant contributions to their local television market.

  • Bart Adrian ('81, M.S.), former WITI-TV meteorologist, now with UW-Milwaukee

Understanding El Niño: Q&A with climate scientist Dan Vimont

Understanding El Niño: Q&A with climate scientist Dan Vimont

Prof. Ankur Desai's Research Highlighted on the Rhinelander, WI News

Rhinelander News Channel 12

2015 Student Awards

Congratulations to the following outstanding AOS students (view pictures):

  • David Loveless – Schwerdtfeger Award for excellent performance in first year graduate studies
  • Kuni Inoue – Lettau Award for outstanding performance for best M.S. thesis
  • Claire Pettersen – Colloquium Student Service Award for creative dedication to the department's intellectual life
  • Zak Handlos – Wahl Award for outstanding performance as a Teaching Assistant
  • Kaitlyn Krzyzaniak – Horn Award for excellence in overall performance as an undergraduate
  • Steven Fons – Sunkel Award for exceptional scholarly potential as an undergraduate
  • Tyler Wright – Lettau-Wahl Award for overall excellence as an undergraduate
  • Britta Gjermo, winner; Sarah Benish, runner-up – AOSS Poster Awards Undergrad
  • Megan Kirchmeier-Young and Andrew Winters, winners; Zak Handlos and Jiang Zhu, runners-up – AOSS Poster Awards Grad

2015 Robock Lecture now online

If you missed the 6th annual Robock Lecture back in March, featuring MIT Prof. Kerry Emanuel speaking on "The Problem of Hurricanes and Climate", you can now view the talk - online here.

AOS Inaugural Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievement

The AOS department announces a new award to recognize our high-caliber and accomplished alumni. Awarded alumni will be recognized during the University of Wisconsin reception at the American Meteorological Society Annual Meeting. If you know someone deserving of this award, please submit a nomination. For the inaugural award to be presented January 2016, please submit no later than October 1. Nominations can be submitted here. Please include your name, the nominee’s name and contact information, and a one paragraph write-up of their accomplishments.

Journal of the UW-AOS

This is an unofficial journal of working papers written by undergraduate and graduate students of the Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Department at the University of Wisconsin - Madison. These papers are not intended to be used as official references.
Check out their work in the Journal of the UW-AOS

Archived Department News

spacer spacer
Copyright 2005 Board of Regents of the UW System

Department | Faculty/Staff | Students | Prospective Students | Research | Seminars | Education |
Weather | Alumni | Upcoming Events | Calendar |
Contact the Webmaster